Meet our Genie

We have worked quite closely with Pat Ross of Genie Creative Ltd for the last 4 years.  We asked if he would contribute to our blog and here it is!

For as long as I can remember nature and, when I understood the meaning, conservation has played a big part in my life.th.jpeg

As a young boy I had my own vegetable patch which “sowed the seeds” for a love of gardening. Indeed, these days, the majority of my free time is spent restoring our Victorian garden and allotment to their former glory.

As I work on these labours of love however, I am very conscious to provide a safe environment for nature to thrive. Making a garden wildlife friendly is incredibly easy and rewarding; tadpoles in the pond, blue tits in the bird boxes and hedgehogs in the garden still thrill me as much today as they did when a boy.

I am fortunate that my work as a brand and graphic design consultant enables me to support organizations including Don Catchment Rivers Trust in promoting ecological and environmental issues.

I first began working with Don Catchment Rivers Trust in 2012 when they commissioned two promotional banner stands produced from recycled stock. Since then we have been privileged to work with them on other projects including the public information stand for the fish and eel pass at Meadowhall and their work in promoting the Living Heritage of the River Don.

As a nature lover, I’m delighted to be involved in working with Don Catchment Rivers Trust in their mission to promote the rich natural, cultural, built and industrial heritage of the River Don.

As a Sheffielder I’m incredibly proud that our city and South Yorkshire can boast rivers clean enough to support Salmon, Trout and other species. Looking to the future – Don Catchment Rivers Trust will continue to reconnect isolated river habitats via a series of fish passes with a view to returning healthy stocks of Salmon to Sheffield for the first time in 200 years. Furthermore, I look forward in working with them to challenge perceptions of our wonderful natural heritage.

Patrick Ross, Genie Creative Ltd

image.png

