My first month as an Apprentice

After finishing my trial month and officially becoming an apprentice to Don Catchment Rivers Trust, i’ll be giving you a recap over all the things that I have learnt and have done over the last month.

My name is Joshua and I am the apprentice for the Don Catchment Rivers Trust, I have learned numerous skills within my first month and I know there are many more to come. I have learned the importance of litter maintenance and how to properly dispose of it. I have also been involved in our first school visit! I assisted the children and fellow staff members in capturing wildlife from Hexthorpe Park and helping the children understand what they are and why they live in this area. I have recently helped set up our upcoming DCRT Salmon Run, which is a geocaching trail along the River Don. I have even set up our companies tool room, which involved putting racking up and taking inventory of everything that belongs in there.

I have learned a lot about invasive plant species and the importance of stopping the spreading of them. I have mainly been looking at Balsam as it is really common amongst the River Don.

I helped out at the Sheffield on show event a couple of weeks ago and it was really fun! I assisted in making badges and telling everyone about who we are and what we do.

I can see myself gaining many more skills over the next 14 months and I am really looking forward to it!

Josh

Environmental Conservation Apprentice

 

 

