Six months on …

Today marks exactly six months since I joined Don Catchment Rivers Trust. It feels like only yesterday that I met everyone for the first time. It has been an absolutely fantastic time and I cannot wait to see what other marvels await me in the rest of my apprenticeship. I have already done so much that it is hard for me to comprehend that there is anything else for me to learn, but every day I get proven wrong and I learn something brand new whether it be a fact, a skill or a simple life lesson.

I have learned so much information and developed so many new skills that I never thought I would get. I now have the ability to build and repair a stile, interact with the public (which I used to be scared of doing due to stage fright) and I’m even a qualified first aider now! I can now identify a whole bunch of different wildlife, some of which I had never even heard of before coming here.

20161115_094055

I have met amazing people and seen some absolutely incredible views that I wish everyone could see. I have seen volunteers turn a dumping ground into a beautiful trail that feels safe to walk down. I have seen the progress of the fish passes being built and it truly is remarkable.

20161115_142547

It makes me happy knowing that I am contributing to help change the environment for the better, not only for all the wildlife but for us as people as well. I strongly believe that I have truly found what I want to do for the rest of my life. I feel so enlightened walking down the trails besides the River Don and seeing all of the natural beauty that all of my colleagues and I are helping preserve.

I would like to thank all of you for giving me this opportunity.

Josh Laidlow
Apprentice – Living Heritage of the River Don

josh

