Meet our latest team member!

20170509_151738

Just a quick one to introduce myself…

I’m Matt Duffy the new Project Assistant for the Living Heritage of the River Don project. I will be delivering volunteer days and community engagement activities having a particular focus on ‘hot-spot’ project sites along the river. These are areas that have been identified for improvement including tackling highly visible areas of litter, vegetation maintenance and fencing works. This will hopefully allow people to access and use these riverside hot-spots for recreation purposes as well as learning about the local history and heritage of these sites. If you’d like to know more about this project please contact me at matt.duffy@dcrt.org.uk

If you’re interested in the route I’ve taken to my current position – after leaving university I started my career in environmental conservation at the Sheffield and Rotherham Wildlife Trust delivering community engagement events. Following this I worked for the River Stewardship Company delivering environmental contracts and community work days which equipped me with the necessary skills for waterway management.

